What's Happening at the Library

Wear Your ID!

Always wear your ID when you come to the Cholla Middle School Library!

Library Challenge

Between now and March 17, students are encouraged to read any or all of the following books and register to vote in the Cholla Middle School Library. Every student who registers to vote will receive a handmade bookmark for each book read. Any student who votes for their favorite Grand Canyon Reader Award book will win a prize from the library. Students must read at least three books to be eligible to vote.

Titles

Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan (2015)
IL: 5-8 RL: 5.3 Lexile 680
Curriculum Tags: Discrimination, Family, Historical Fiction, Magic, Music
Lost in the Black Forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and finds himself entwined in a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica--and decades later three children, Friedrich in Germany, Mike in Pennsylvania, and Ivy in California find themselves caught up in the same thread of destiny in the darkest days of the twentieth century, struggling to keep their families intact, and tied together by the music of the same harmonica.

Picture
Book Trailer
Read-alikes:
  • Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
  • Serendipity's Footsteps by Suzanne Nelson
  • Part of Me by Kimberly Willis Holt
  • Another Kind of Hurricane by Tamara Ellis Smith
  • Clockwork by Philip Pullman
  • The Mozart Question by Michael Morpurgo
  • The Silver Door by Holly Lisle
  • A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban
  • The Music of Dolphins by Karen Hesse

The Forbidden Stone by Tony Abbott (2014)
IL: 5-8 RL: 5.2 Lexile: 680
Curriculum Tags: Action and Adventure, Mystery
Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.


Picture
Book Trailer
Read-alikes:
  • ​A Mutiny in Time by James Dashner
  • The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
  • Into the Gauntlet by Margaret Peterson Haddix
  • The Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner's Dilemma by Trenton Lee Stewart
  • Rick Ricotta's Giant Robot by Dav Pilkey
  • Rescue on Nim's Island by Wendy Orr
  • Seven Clues by Kathy Stinson

Game Seven by Paul Volponi (2015)
IL: YA Lexile: 770
Curriculum Tags: Immigration and Emigration, Sports, Survival Stories
A sixteen-year-old shortstop in Cuba who dreams of playing with the pros must choose between his country and his father who defected to the U.S.

Picture

Authors website
​Read-alikes:
  • Athletic Shorts by Chris Crutcher
  • Gym Candy by Carl Deuker
  • Crackback by John Coy
  • QB1 by Mike Lupica
  • Raiders Night by Robert Lipsyte
  • Dean Duffy by Randy Powell
  • 7 Days at the Hot Corner by Terry Trueman
  • Losing is Not an Option by Rich Wallae
  • One Shot Away by T. Glen Coughlin

The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare (2014)
IL: 5-8 RL: 5.6  Lexile: 830
Curriculum Tags: Action and Adventure, Fantasy

Warned away from magic all of his life, Callum endeavors to fail the trials that would admit him to the Magisterium only to be drawn into its ranks against his will and forced to confront dark elements from his past.

Picture

Book Trailer
​Read-alikes:
  • The Novice by Taran Matharu
  • Midnight for Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo
  • Fangtastic by Sienna Mercer
  • The Candy Shop War by Brandon Mull
  • The Familiars by Adam Jay Epstein
  • The Meanest Doll in the World by Ann M. Martin
  • The Forests of Silence by Emily ROdda
  • Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu

Magic Marks the Spot by Caroline Carson (2013)
IL: 3-6 RL: 5.9 Lexile: 900
Curriculum Tags: Action and Adventure, Fantasy
When Hilary Westfield escapes Miss Pim's finishing school to join a misfit pirate crew, she embarks on an unexpectedly magical swashbuckling, plank-walking, searfaring journey.

Picture

Book Trailer
​Read-alikes:
  • The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones by Will Mabbitt
  • Oliver and the Seawigs by Philip Reeve
  • Beyond the Deepwoods by Paul Stewart
  • Pirates Past Noon by Mary Pope Osborne
  • A Riddle in Ruby by Kent Davis
  • Another Whole Nother Story by Cuthbert Soup
  • The Pirate's Coin by Marianne Malone
  • The Wand and the Sea by Claire Caterer
  • The Secret of the Ginger Mice by Frances Watts

Mark of the Thief by Jennifer A. Nielsen (2015)
IL: 5-8 RL: 5.2 Lexile: 740
Curriculum Tags: Fantasy, First Person (point of view ), Historical Fiction, Magic
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing lost treasures of Julius Caesar, he finds himself in possession of an ancient amulet filled with magic once reserved for the Gods, and becomes the center of a conspiracy to overthrow the emperor and destroy Rome.

Picture

Book Trailer
​Read-alikes:
  • ​The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
  • Gods and Warriors by Michelle Paver
  • The Thieves of Ostia by Caroline Lawrence
  • See You Later, Gladiator by Jon Scieszka
  • Stormriders by Anna Ciddor
  • Sludging Through a Sewer by Valerie Wilding
  • The Apothecary by Maile Meloy
  • Dragon of the Red Dawn by Mary Pope Osborne

The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier (2014)
IL: 5-8 RL: 5.3 Lexile: 690
Curriculum Tags: Fantasy, Horror and Ghost Stories
Irish orphans Molly, fourteen, and Kip, ten, travel to England to work as servants in a crumbling manor house where nothing is quite what it seems to be, and soon the siblings are confronted by a mysterious stranger and secrets of the cursed house


Picture

Book Trailer
​Read-alikes:
  • The Dead of Winter by Chris Priestley
  • Coraline by Neil Gaiman
  • Heap House by Edward Carey
  • Charlie and theGrandmothers by Katy Towell
  • The Boneshaker by Kate Milford
  • Juniper Berry by M. P. Kozlowsky
  • The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud
  • The Nest by Kenneth Oppel
  • The Seer of Shadows by Avi


The Paper Cowboy by Kristin Levine (2014)
IL: 5-8 RL: 4.3 Lexile: 600
Curriculum tags: Bullying, Cold War, Historical Fiction, Physical Abuse

In a small town near Chicago in 1953, twelve-year-old Tommy faces escalating problems at home, among his Catholic school friends, and with the threat of a communist living nearby, but taking over his hospitalized sister's paper route introduces him to neighbors who he comes to rely on for help.

Picture
Book Trailer
​Read-alikes:
  • The Seventh Most Important Thing by Shelley Pearsall
  • Paperboy by Vince Vawter
  • Chasing Orion by Kathryn Lasky
  • The River Between Us by Richard Peck
  • Rain Shadow by Valerie Sherrard
  • Chigger by Raymond Bial
  • An Ocean Apart by Gillian Chan
  • Lower! Higher! You're a Liar! by Miriam Chaikin
  • On Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry (2014)
IL: 5-8 RL: 5.3  Lexile 730
Curriculum Tags: Humor, Mystery

Seven very proper Victorian young ladies conspire to hide a murder from the authorities at their boarding school.

Picture

Book Trailer
​Read-alikes:
  • Murder is Bad Manners by Robin Stevens
  • Nooks and Crannies by Jessica Lawson
  • Unstoppable Octobia May by Sharon Flake
  • The Swallow by Charis Cotter


Sidekicked by John David Anderson (2013)
IL: 3-6 RL: 5.4  Lexile 830
Curriculum Tags: Humor, Fantasy
Thirteen-year-old superhero sidekick-in-training Drew "The Sensationalist" Bean must overcome his not-so-superpowers and become the hero everyone needs when a supervillain, The Dealer, returns to Justicia.


Picture
Authors website
​Read-alikes:
  • Almost Super by Marion Jensen
  • Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-a-Lot by Dav Pilkey
  • Powerless by Matthew Cody
  • Super Fly by Todd H. Doddler
  • Supercat vs. the Fry Thief by Jeanne Willis
  • The End of Infinity by Matt Myklusch
  • Wild Card by Steven Lochran
  • The Chemo Kid by Robert Lipsyte
  • The Hero Revealed by William Boniface